Chalking & Inking

Today, I want to discuss Chalking and Inking. I decided I wanted to create a layout about my two little beauties, Elle and EM. For as long as I can remember the two of them have always loved wearing sunglasses…I guess it makes them feel like SuperStars or something, so I decided I would create a layout of the two of them in one of Elle’s sunshades.

Let’s first discuss the products used in this layout:

20140415-162414.jpg

– Bazzill Basics Paper Blackbird Cardstock
– Recollections 110 lb white cardstock
– Heidi Swapp Spray Stencil
– Pebbles, Inc. I kan’ dee Pearlscent Chalks
– Tim Holtz Distress Ink Scattered Straw
– Thickers by American Crafts Eclair Glitter Foam Stickers
– Recollections Self-Inking Stamps
– ColorBox Limited Edition Flashy Finds Sticky Stars

After gathering my materials, I decided to start with chalking my background. I hadn’t used my chalks in FOREVER and decided that is was beyond time to pull them out again (there is nothing wrong with pulling out and using some of our products that we haven’t USED in ages) 😉

I basically just put my stencil on top of my cardstock and selected two different shades of pink to work with. With my chalking tool, I carefully colored in each color onto my cardstock until I achieved the look I was going for.

20140415-162130.jpg

After that, it was time to move on to getting a watercolor effect using distress inks. To achieve this, I first used the Recollections Self-Inking Stamps and stamped the images onto my cardstock and then cut out each image.

20140415-163345.jpg

Next, I pressed the ink pad into my craft mat and spritzed some water on top of the ink. Next, I got my paintbrush and made sure that both the ink and the water were combined well, thus creating the perfect watercolor. Then, it was time to have some fun and paint each cut out stamped image.

20140415-162813.jpg

After all the work was done, it was time to complete my layout by adhering the photos and then my title, followed my my watercolored stamped images and my sticker stars. All-in-all, I had a great time creating this layout and feel as though it captures the essence of both of my girl’s personalities.

20140415-163539.jpg

What are some of the things you all have created with chalk or with your distress inks? Please feel free to leave a comment, and feel free to leave the link to your blog so we can check out your work!

Happy Scrapping!
~Nati

Leave a Reply

