Flower Stamping

Happy Technique Tuesday everyone! I hope your week is getting off to a great start. Today I wanted to talk with you all about turning a plain silk flower into something nice that can be used later on for a card, a scrapbooking layout or even some home decor. So lets get to it.

Materials needed:
plain flat flower of any color (In this case, I used a white flower)
stamp (or stamp set)
two different color ink pads
Inking tool (Optional)

To get started with this project I first laid my plain white flower onto my craft sheet. I’m not sure what brand of flower this is. It may possibly be a Prima flower, but I’m not for certain. I bought a hand full of these flowers back in 2007, from a local scrapbooking store in Nashville that was closing and they had their loose flowers in various baskets.

20140429-140240.jpg

Next, with StazOn Jet Black ink, I used a stamp from the Autumn Leaves Clear Stamps Flourishes by Rhonna Farrer set and stamped my flourish onto the flower several times until I achieved the look I was going for.

20140429-140525.jpg

20140429-140541.jpg

After achieving my desired look, I got out my Tim Holtz Worn Lipstick Distress Ink and Ink Blending Tool and began to blend the Worn Lipstick Color onto the flower.

20140429-140709.jpg

Again, I blended the color onto the flower until I achieved the desired look I was going for. If you don’t have a Blending Tool, you can also achieve this same look by gently rubbing your ink pad onto the flower.

20140429-140855.jpg

As mentioned before you can then use your flower to decorate anything…a picture frame, put several on a lamp shade, on the front of a pencil holder or to use as an embellishment for a card or scrapbooking layout. The possibilities are truly infinate….and you can use this same technique on various size flowers.

Now go out and create something! 🙂

Nati

2 thoughts on “Flower Stamping

    • Hello Courtney W. You can definitely use this technique with fabric! You can even use a pencil eraser and any color ink to create a dotted effect on fabric. Really the possibilities are endless….you probably have items around your house that would make perfect “stamped” images! 🙂

Leave a Reply

