Technique Tuesday: BRAVE Background

Today, I want to talk to you about creating your own backgrounds for scrapbooking layouts. I believe that we can take any piece of cardstock and make it uniquely our own by just adding some personal touches using anything….doodles, spray inks, stencils, paint, magazine cutouts, masks, and the list can go on and on.

With the technique for I will be showing you all today, I used Dylusions Spray Inks as well as a chicken wire stencil to create a unique background for my scrapbook layout featuring my Little Beauty, Em at Blessington Farms. So let’s get to it.

IMG_2098
First, I gathered my materials to create my background.

IMG_2102
Next, I selected an area on the page to begin spraying.

IMG_2101
Now, it was time for some fun!

IMG_2100
While spraying, I thought I would add two more colors to the mix.

IMG_2099
Here is my completed background. It may not look like much right now, but that is the beauty of it. Once, I added my picture and embellishements, the background helped bring out the overall look and feel of the layout as seen below.

IMG_2105
At this point in the layout, I felt as though something was missing, so I had to take a step back for a few minutes.

IMG_2104
And here is the completed layout. I switched out the sticker letters for the word, “BRAVE.” I feel like with the word being in white stickers, verses black, the word stands out and doesn’t get lost in the background. And with the word “BEYOND,” I outlined the foam stickers using a white gel pen. Overall, I am very pleased with the final outcome. I really enjoyed making this quick and easy background to fully complete my layout.

So go out there and create your own background for a layout you are working on and let me know how it works out for you. Until next time,

Happy Scrappin’,
Nati J.

Materials Used:
DCWV Paper Pack, Thickers Foam Letter Stickers, Thickers Maple Matte Puffy Letter Stickers, Studio Calico Wood Veneers, Feathers from Hobby Lobby,
Tim Holtz Distress Paint (Tarnished Brass), Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Vintage Photo), Canson Watercolor Paper, Project Life Journaling Pen, Gelly Roll Pen (White), The Crafters Workshop 6×6 Stencil Mini Chicken Wire by Jaime Echt,
Tattered Angels Chalkboard Glimmer Mist (Canary), Dylusions Ink Spray (London Blue, Funky Fuchsia, Vibrant Turquoise), Becky Higgins Project Life – Heidi Swapp Favorite Things Edition 3×4 Journaling Card, Recollections Bing

Leave a Reply

