ICAD – Day 14: Merry-go-round

This has to be by far the most challenging card I’ve done! It is a card that through the process I literally hated it even more because what I had invisioned turned into an epic fail on paper.  But please stick with me through this process, it’ll be worth it in the end. 

image

As pictured here, I first gathered all my supplies….a wooden stamp, spray waterbottle, some Gelatos and watercolor paper which I cut down to a standard index card size (3×5).

image

First, I rubbed all the Gelatos onto the stamp.

image

Here, you can somewhat see the different colors.

image

Next, I spritzed the stamp quite a few times.

image

Then I stamped the image onto the watercolor paper (I use Canson Watercolor Paper)

image

And yes, after several attemps, this is what I got. I just couldn’t get the image to appear!  At this point, I was a little frustrated…so I tried to think of a way to save this card….

image

So I decided to use Dr. Ph. Martin’s Hydrus Fine Art Watercolor…..

image

I simply just used the dripper and let the watercolor run down the card.

image

At this point, I still wasn’t sure about this index card,  but I thought it might have some potential…. so I continued to work on it….

image

I added some circles….again using Dr. Ph. Martin’s Hydrus Fine Art Watercolors….but I still felt a little blah about it…..

image

Then I saw her in my stash of magazine cut outs and thought, “she’s perfect!” So use her I did! I thought her face liked like someone who was “over it,” whatever “it” might be.  So I came up with this quote, based on past conversations with friends and thought it was fitting.
So, in the end I’m actually happy with the way this ICAD came out. It took a little work, some trial and error. But I like it.  As I go through this journey of trying out new things I realize that I am learning a lot along the way.  Art doesn’t have to be perfect, there is freedom in just letting go and letting your fingers do the work.  Art is definitely something that you feel… it’s about bringing a vision to life and sharing that vision with the world. 

I know this was a long post, thank you for sticking with me.  What are you all currently working on?  I’d love to hear… and see. 

Happy Crafting!
Nati J.

Leave a Reply

