ICAD #60: Mixed Media Process

Hello everyone!  Today, I wanted to share my process in creating my Index Card A Day Card #60 out of 61!  Yes, the 61 Day challenge will end tomorrow.  So let’s begin: First, I gathered some paper which I cut down to the size of an Index Card (3×5), some decoupage glue and some left over ends from a spiral bound drawing pad. 

  
After applying gesso to my card and letting that dry, I applied the decoupage glue and my spiral bound ends to the index card. Here, I used the decoupage glue generously. 

  
Next, I cut the excess spiral bound ends off and decided I would use the neon green paint as my base paint. 

  
After using the neon green paint, I used my Tim Holtz stencil with the pink acrylic paint. I wanted the print to stand out, so I used the Faber-Castell Art Grip Aquarellle Watercolor Pencil in Black to outline the print. While deciding what to do next, I inked the edges of the card with my Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen Big Brush in Black. 

  
Next, I thought it would be fun to add a little paint spackle with the Dylusions Ink Spray. 

  To be honest, when I got to this point, I felt like the card could possibly stand on its own…..so I used my distress ink by Tim Holtz to ink my edges more and also to to ink the top portion of the card. 

  But then, this happened…I just couldn’t help myself. I saw this white butterfly (from Michael’s $1.50 spot) sitting on the top of my stash and I just had to add it. I also thought this dandelion stamp would go well with it. 

  Here is a close up of the butterfly and the stamp. 

  

 Lastly, I was able to finish this quote off with the perfect quote for this second to last ICAD.  I was very happy with the outcome. 

I hope you all were able to be inspired by this tutorial. Please feel feel to leave a comment below and follow me on my Instagram. ūüėä

Until next time, Happy Crafting!

Nati J. 

Leave a Reply

