Flag Background Planner Layout Tutorial + October Planner Monthly Spread

Hello Everyone!!!!!  I hope you all are off to a Magnificent Monday so far!  Today, I wanted to share a tutorial with you all as well as share my finished October Planner Spread. So let’s get started with the tutorial.  

First things first, I started with a semi blank spread – minus my monthly quote, I added a triangle with my t-ruler on the left hand side of the spread.   

 Next, which you can barely see in the photo, I added straight lines going across the two pages for the stripes of the flag. 

Using a stencil, I traced a star onto a post-it note.    

This star will be used as a mask in the center of the triangle as you will soon see.     To mask off the triangle area, I will be using Post-It tape. I will be adding the star to the center of the triangle with removable adhesive. 

After masking off the triangle portion of my flag, I gathered my Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Peacock Feathers and Fired Brick which I will be using to color in the flag. 

   Above is the triangle after I have added the Peacock Feathers Distress Ink. 

After taking the Post-It Tape off along with the traced star on the post-it note this is the final result. 

Next, I taped off the area to make the stripes for the flag. The parts with the tape will later be the white stripes on the flag.   

 Above I am adding the Fired Brick Distress Ink to the white areas that are not masked off. 

 After inking up my pages with the Fired Brick Distress Ink, this is what my planner page looked like. Now it’s time to take the tape off!   

 Above is the full spread with the Puerto Rico flag. 

  
Here is my October Planner Spread with most of the things for the month filled in. Regarding why I chose the Puerto Rican flag….I felt the need to honor my Puerto Rican roots in an artistic form. National Hispanic Heritage Month this year started on September 15, 2015, and will end on October 15, 2015. The Puerto Rican culture is so vibrant and full of life. I didn’t want the month to pass with out me representing my heritage!   

I hope you all enjoyed this tutorial and find a way to incorporate stencils, or your own art into your planner spreads. 

Until next time, Happy Planning! 

Nati J. 

4 thoughts on “Flag Background Planner Layout Tutorial + October Planner Monthly Spread

Leave a Reply

