Get Messy Art Journal – Part 2

Thank you for joining me for the second part of this 2-Part Series on Season 7: Happy for the Get Messy Art Journaling Group. If you missed Part 1 and would like to read it, please click here. Today I’ll be sharing with you all the second half of my art journal projects for the Get Messy Art Journal Prompts. Let’s get started!  

Prompt #4: I ended up going with three of the prompts and making two separate entries. 
 
Here, I went with the journaling prompt, inspired by The Pixar film, Inside Out and colored my emotions with various circles.  The arrows along with the book pages (word) in the background represent the flow of emotions that go on in our heads. 
  
In the above photo, I stuck with a more monochromatic theme and used one of my happy colors: Pink! I also used one of the quotes from Baz Luhrmann’s Sunscreen that resonated with me the most.   

Prompt #5: The quote at the beginning of this prompt read:
The art of happiness lies in the power of extracting happiness from common things. ~Henry Ward Beecher

I decided to go with one of the art prompts where we were instructed to turn on some happy music and translate what we hear onto our journaling page. Right now, one of my favorite songs is Adele’s Sweetest Devotion. To me, it is a happy song full of love! When the song starts it’s like you can see the butterflies, the beautiful blue sky and the sun blazing beautifully with a perfect, light breeze kissing your skin gently. It’s a perfect breeze filled with love and devotion…and that is what I tried to convey in my work. 

 
To me, as the quote states, happiness does lie in the power of extracting happiness from common things.  And it is through music, this common universal language that we are able to hear and express various emotions, one of which is happiness. 

Prompt #6: With this final prompt, I decided to go with the journaling prompt and finish the sentence: “Happiness is…

  
I wanted to play with my new Dylusions paints and with some of my stamps as well and I came up with this fun piece. And my statement: “Happiness is time with him,” was the very first and perfect thing that came to mind.  I love the feel of the orange on the page and how it pops with the black and white. Every time I see it, it makes me smile and/or laugh.  

Well, that concludes Part 2 of Season 7: Happy for the Get Messy Art Journal. I hope you all enjoyed seeing my pieces as much as I enjoyed making them. I do plan on participating in the next challenge which is #messylists. I completed the prep work for the journal I will be using over the weekend and I will share those pieces for #messylists with you all as well. In the meantime,
Happy Crafting!
Nati J. 

Leave a Reply

