Chic Planning:  Purple Rain, April 25-May 1, 2016

Hello Everyone!  

Yes you read the title correct!  This week we are dancing in Purple Rain!  As you all already know, we lost a musical genius and icon in Prince last week. It’s still very hard to believe that he is no longer here. When my MIL called to give me the news, I just couldn’t believe it. I like many others grew up listening to Prince. My mother has ALWAYS referred to him as her “boyfriend.”  LOL.  It’s hard to pick just one Prince song as my favorite because there are too many, but Party Like It’s 1999, is near and dear since I think this was the class song for just about everyone who graduated in the Class of 1999. LOL but besides that I love Nohing Compares To You and Black Sweat too just to name a couple. Prince is a musician that I hope my girls will learn to love and appreciate when they are older. His lyrics transcend from generation to generation.  May his soul Rest In Peace and may he be remembered always. 

Prince Rogers Nelson 1958-2016


So yes, my planner layout for this week is dedicated to Prince himself. I wanted to wait until his Memorial Service to pay tribute, but that was short lived once I heard the news that he had already been cremated and a private service had already been held.  I hope
this
layout does him justice.  I kept the materials to a minimum, but packed a lot of heat withinthe layout. Let’s get started!

First, I started off by taping my sheets for the week (from the calendar extension pack by Me and My Big Ideas) to printer paper using washi tape. 

After some trial and error, I was able to get the images (which I found on Pinterest) on my sheets the way I wanted them. 


Next, I outlined the printed pictures with washi tape.  Diamonds for the song Diamonds and Pearls and the music notes for The Artist himself. 


Here, I used a Jenni Bowlin 6×6 Teardrop Stencil to cover the planner page (all except for Prince that is) with Purple Rain…to represent the classic and iconic song, Purple Rain.   After looking at the page I felt something was missing but I didn’t want to compromise the art. At the same time, I needed to add some planner elements. 

The planner elements are one from Planning Purrfection and the last two are DIY Planner Stickers that I made. 


Here on the left page, I just added a Keep Calm quote and the begging of Let’s go Crazy by Prince. 


On the right side I added the song titled Party Like It’s 1999!  I also added a weekend sticker so the weekend stands out a little more. 

Materials Used: Jenni Bowlin Studio Teardrop 6×6 Stencil, Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Seedless Preserves, White Gelly Roll Pen, the Paper Studio and Recollections Washi Tape, DIY Printables, Planning PURRfection Printable, Images found on Pinterest and MAMBI The Happy Olanner Calendar Extension


Above is my entire planner layout before I placed it back in my Happy Planner. 


With the two larger photos I had of Prince, I decided to add an insert in my planner. 


I also added the dates at the top of each page and a diamond paper clip to keep my spot in my planner. 

Overall, I love the way this page game out.  I wanted to make sure that Prince stood out, hence the reason why the purple rain isn’t falling on him, it’s falling around him. 

I’ll leave you all with one of my favorite quotes by Prince. I was able to add this quote to the picture via The Studio app.                                        

“Cool means being able to hang with yourself. All you have to ask yourself is, ‘Is there anybody I’m afraid of? Is there anybody who if I walked into a room and saw, I’d get nervous?’ If not, then you’re cool.”


Happy Planning and RIP to the beautiful on, The Artist himself, Prince. 

Nati J. 

Leave a Reply

