DIY Mixed Media Embellishments Tutorial 

Hello Everyone!!!!

If you follow me on Instagram, yesterday I posted some DIY Embellishments and I wanted to share a tutorial on how to make them with you all today. 

If you’re wondering how I found thes embellishments, here’s the story.  On Monday, I stumbled across Inkie Quill’s YouTube Channel and viewed a Grab 5 video where she made these embellishments for a layout she was working on. Unpopular viewing the video, I knew I had to make these embellishments for myself!  So let’s get started!  


Minus the Glitter Gold Cardstock from Michael’s, here are the supplies I used. 


First, I started off with 2 pieces of white 110lbs heavy cardstock by Recollections at Michael’s…these were from my stash. I covered each strip with White Gesso. 


Next, I selected some of my favorite Faber-Castell Gelatos (Cotton Candy, Banana, Bubble Gum, and Margerita Mix), and a Metallic Purple Alex Brand Creamy Crayon. I randomly rubbed each color across each strip of paper. 


To give the gelatos and crazy crayons this effect, I simply just added water with the use of my paintbrush.  This looks much better than before right?!?  


Now for the fun part, I grabbed 6 punches (3 circle punches, 2 flag/banner punches and 1 mini heart punch) and started punching away. 


I was able to punch out this much with just those two strips. I punched out the larger shapes first and with the scrap paper, I used the mini heart and mini circle punch to ensure I used up as much of the strips as possible. 


With some Recollections Glitter paper, I used the large and medium sized flag/banner and the circle punches and just punched out a portion of the shape. 


With the use of one of my favorite adhesives, Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue, I glued the glitter pieces of cardstock to my oh so colorful shapes.  This created a dipped glitter effect without all the mess and fuss. 

I had so much fun making these embellishments and I can’t wait to use them in a Scrapbooking layout, in my planner as well as in my Project Life Album. 


Here are some completely finished and ready to use embellishments which I will be using in the very near future!  

If you want an audio walk through of this tutorial please visit Inkie Quill’s YouTube Channel. She has a ton of awesome videos, also feel free to follow me on Instagram as well. 

I hope you all enjoyed this tutorial!   

Happy Crafting!

Nati J.  

One thought on “DIY Mixed Media Embellishments Tutorial 

  1. Pingback: Chic Planning: August 8-14, 2016 | Creating Emorelle

Leave a Reply

