Mixed Media Artwork Tutorial:  Open Your Heart and Mind

Hello and Happy Monday!

This weekend I had a chance to really sit down and have some playtime in the studio. For me being creative is a type of lifeline. It keeps me sane, helps me clear my mind and helps me relieve the stresses of everyday life. This weekend, playtime is exactly what I needed as we begin to close out the busy summer and prepare for back-to-school. 

So today, I wanted to share the piece I worked on this weekend in the form of a mixed media tutorial. So let’s get started!


First, I went through my bowl of trinkets to select some goodies for this project. 

I selected two brads, a large vintage key, a bow and a Heidi Swapp Flower. I also pulled out some hemp, a Heidi Swapp Canvas Heart and some tissue wrap. I will be using Recollections Heavy White Cardstock, cut down to 3×5 (index card size). 


First things first, I adhered the tissue wrap to the cardstock with the use of Collage Pauge


Next, I inked the entire card with Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Wild Honey


Then, I pulled out Walnut Stain Distress Ink to darken the edges of my card. 


After looking my card over, I thought it would been good to add a hint of blue to the card with Broken China Distress Ink


Pictured above you can see the hints of blue on the card.


Now, I will be inking the edges of the heart with Ranger Archival Ink – Jet Black


Next, add stamped images to the canvas heart. 


And once again I inked the edges of the heart, except this time I used Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen Big Brush


Remove the backing from the back of the heart. Use Tacky Glue to add the heart to the cardstock. 


I also used the Tacky Glue to adhere the vintage key to the heart. 


While the key is drying, now is a good time to add some Color Shine to my flower. 


Above is the finished flower. 


With the use of a paper piercer, I pierced two holes for my brads. 


Next, I grabbed some white acrylic paint and cut a piece of hemp. 


With a dab of paint and a quick spray of water (to thin out the paint), blend (with finger), and rub the hemp in the paint making sure to cover both sides.

Next, wrap the hemp around your fingers to make a few loops and tie each end together. 


Use Ranger Archival Ink to further ink the edges of the card. 


Place the hemp in the desired spot and glue it down with a Hot Glue Gun


Place the Color Shine Flower on top of the hemp, again with hot glue. 


Next, I selected a phrase from this Cosmo Cricket Tiny Text set. I inked the edges with a Faber-Castellated PITT Artist Pen Big Brush and added it to my card with Tacky Glue


Lastly I finished the piece with a few tiny pearl embellishments. 

I hope you all enjoyed this tutorial. Until next time, 

Happy Crafting!

Nati J. 

Leave a Reply

