Happy Fall Y’all!!!! + Candle Cover Tutorial

Hello, hello, hello Creative Peeps!!!!

So this week, I finished decorating my home with our Fall Decor so I wanted to share that with you all along with a simple DIY Candle Cover Tutorial.

I’m so excited about sharing this quick and easy tutorial with you all today, so let’s get started.

The materials needed for this project are as follows:

  • Candle of any size (pictured below is a large candle from Yankee Candle)
  • Hot Glue Gun + Glue sticks
  • Adhesive Velcro Strips
  • Large ribbon of any kind to go around your candle
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Vintage Photo (or any type of ink pad in brown or black)
  • Distress Tool (or make up applicator)
  • Decorative loose leaves from Dollar Tree or Wal*Mart

First, I gather my ribbon and wrap it around to see how much I will need. In this case with the large Yankie Candle, I used about 12.5 inches.

Next, I cut my ribbon at the desired place.

Now, it’s time to start inking! I grab my Distress Ink in Vintage Photo and my Ink Blending Tool. I dab the Ink Blending Tool onto the Distress Ink and then rub the Ink Blending Tool on top of my ribbon. I continue to do this until I have the desired look.

Here is how my ribbon came out. As you can see I rubbed the Ink into certain areas and didn’t cover the ribbon with the Ink.

Next I grabbed my Velcro Strips.

I cut mine, but there is no need to cut the strip. I ended up adding the other half when I was done to give the other side more space to hold onto.

Here I added a strip of hot glue to the ribbon on both ends. When doing this, you must pay close attention. You will need to glue one Velcro strip to the inside of the ribbon and the other Velcro strip to the outside of the ribbon.

Here my strip has been glued down. Although I had adhesive backing on my velcro Strips, I still added the hot glue just to make sure the strip stays in place all season and beyond.

Above, I’ve added the Ribbon Candle Cover to my candle.

You can with be done with the candle cover here, or you can continue reading and add even more to your cover with this additional step.

For me, I didn’t like the ruff look of the edge of the ribbon in the back and since both sides of this candle will be seen, I decided to add some leaves to the cover the opening.

A few years back, I purchased a bag of loose leaves from either Dollar Tree or Wal*Mart (I’m sure you can get them from other places too).

I grabbed the hot glue Gun and two leaves. I added a small strip of hot glue to the edge of the ribbon at the top and the bottom. And then placed the leaves on top. For me, this was a great finishing touch to the candle cover.

Now, it’s time to add it to my bar with the rest of the Fall Decor!

Here is the front view of my Ribbon Candle Cover.

As well as the back.

And below you will find the rest of the Decor I place around the common areas of the house. I’ll say hemp cord was my good friend this year with my Decor. LOL. I love that stuff!

Candy Corn/Autumn Mix – the best Fall candy, which happens to be one of my childhood favorites!!!

Some Fall happiness in the bathroom.

A vase on top of one of our bookcases where I put used wine corks. I didn’t want to get rid of the corks, so decorating the vase was a plus!

While decorating my table….I found that glitter goes a long way!!!! Look how the Stickles really brought out something extra to the leaf napkin holder. I loved it so much that I added Stickles to all of my napkin holders!!!!

The tray on our coffee table came out just right!

Here is the fire mantel. I will be adding picture of us from the last year on the “Thankful for…” sign.

Here are some candles that are on one of the bookcases as well. I will have a quick tutorial tomorrow on an inexpensive way to decorate a candle (based on the middle candle pictured above). So be on the lookout for that.

The dining room table with personalized placemats that I made a few years back.

And lastly, the entry way! I love this sign from Hobby Lobby!!! And Texas is just the place for it to be y’all!

So until next time, Happy Crafting!!!!

Nati J.

2 thoughts on “Happy Fall Y’all!!!! + Candle Cover Tutorial

Leave a comment